The Interim Climate Change Committee consists of five members, including a Chair, Deputy Chair and three subject matter experts.

Committee structure

Committee members are high-calibre individuals with appropriate skills and knowledge in their field of expertise. Members are not advocates for, or representatives of, any particular stakeholder or interest group.

The Committee members were appointed based on their skills, expertise and standing in one or more of the following disciplines:

  • Agriculture
  • Business and international competitiveness
  • Climate change policy and climate change science
  • Energy production and supply
  • Resource economics and impacts
  • Te Tiriti o Waitangi, te reo me ona tikanga Māori, Māori economy and mātauranga Māori.

The Committee meet at least twice most months, as well as attend a number of stakeholder and external engagements.

Interim Climate Change Committee members

Dr David Prentice (Chair)

Chair Dr David PrenticeDr Prentice was most recently the CEO and Managing Director of Opus International Consultants. He is Chair of Business New Zealand’s Infrastructure sub-group, a member of the Institute of Directors, a Chartered Professional Engineer and a Fellow of Engineering New Zealand. 

Ms Lisa Tumahai (Deputy Chair)

Dep Chair Lisa TumahaiMs Tumahai is Kaiwhakahaere (Chairperson) of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. The climate change work championed by Rūnanga across tribal assets, along with protecting and advancing collective interests of Iwi provide valuable insights for the Committee. As whanau member of Ngāti Waewae, Lisa is acutely aware of the challenges climate change presents for local communities. As Kaiwhakahaere Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, Lisa oversees the operations of Ngāi Tahu Farming, providing her with an understanding of agri-business as well as bringing strong relationships across the sector. Ms Tumahai brings knowledge and experience of te reo me ona tikanga, matauranga Māori, Māori business and the Māori economy.

Dr Harry Clark

harry clarkDr Clark is a New Zealand expert on agricultural greenhouse gas research, and is currently the Director of the New Zealand Agricultural Greenhouse Gas Research Centre, prior to which he headed up AgResearch’s Climate, Land and Environment section. Harry also sits on a number of New Zealand and international government panels and committees and co-chairs the Livestock Research Group of the Global Research Alliance on Agricultural Greenhouse Gases.

Dr Jan Wright

Member Dr Jan WrightDr Wright was New Zealand's third Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment. She spent two terms as Commissioner, between 2007 and 2017. has particular expertise in science, policy, and economics. In that role, she produced a number of reports on climate change issues, including agricultural emissions and sea level rise.

Dr Keith Turner

Member Dr Keith TurnerDr Turner has a background in energy, business and governance. He was CEO of Meridian Energy for many years, and more recently in governance roles, being Chair or Director of Fisher & Paykel Appliances, Auckland International Airport, Spark Infrastructure (Australia), South Australian Power Networks (Australia), Victoria Power Network (Australia) and Chorus. He brings a strong understanding of the energy sector to the Committee.

Dr Suzi Kerr (Term finished 30 April 2019)

suzi kerr CopyDr Kerr is an internationally renowned expert in economics, climate change policy and emissions trading. As a Senior Fellow at Motu Economic and Public Policy Research, and Adjunct Professor of Public Policy at Victoria University, she is also a regular participant in climate roundtables and has authored a number of papers on climate policy and emissions trading in New Zealand. Dr Kerr is a specialist advisor to the Committee.

Last modified: