In July 2018 the ICCC established a technical working group within its energy workstream. This challenge and review group is known as the E-Charge group. The E-Charge group does not have any decision-making role. It reviews and provides input on proposals brought to the group by the ICCC.

Purpose of the E-Charge group

The purpose of the E-Charge group is to provide technical expertise and sector knowledge relating to the quantitative analysis the ICCC is undertaking, including modelling.

The group includes eight participants. In addition, specialists from the Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment, the Ministry for the Environment, the Electricity Authority, the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority, and Transpower join the group for particular meetings where their experience is valuable.

Participants are required to act confidentially, independently and with integrity. E-Charge members are also expected to review and challenge the assumptions that underlie the ICCC's quantitative analysis.

Participants of the E-Charge working group were chosen based on their skills in one or more of the following areas:

  1. An understanding and appreciation of quantitative analysis of:
    • the electricity sector, particularly the market and system of supply
    • the transport sector
    • the process heat sector
    • energy technologies and/or
    • emerging trends in the energy sector
  2. Policy and economic expertise
  3. Experience in energy modelling, particularly in the New Zealand context

E-Charge group members

Andy Philpott (University of Auckland)

Garth Dibley (WEL Networks)

Gillian Blythe (Meridian Energy)

John Carnegie (BusinessNZ)

John Culy (modelling consultant)

Martin McMullan (NZTA)

Steve O’Connor (Flick Electric)

Victoria Coad (Concept Consulting)

Last modified: