Three Technical Reference Groups, established by the Interim Committee to assist in understanding the emissions reductions opportunities in the land-use; transport; and heat, industry and power sectors; met three times in 2019 to review modelling and data underpinning identified opportunities.

These groups met jointly in October, and then separately in November and December. It is expected that they will meet at least three more times before mid-late 2020 and that the Commission will also engage with a wider range of technical stakeholders through additional workshops and meetings.

The purpose of the initial three Technical Reference Group meetings was to support the development of the modelling scenarios and assumptions. This was to test that the scenarios and assumptions are fit-for-purpose and robust and to ensure they are modelled consistently across each sector.

The members of these groups are:


Tim Payn, Toi Ohomai & Scion

Peter Beets, independent

Andrew Kempson, Fonterra

Corina Jordan, Beef and Lamb

Ash-Leigh Campbell, Ngāi Tahu Farming

Craige Mackenzie, Agrioptics

Michelle Sands, Horticulture New Zealand

Tui Warmenhoven, He Oranga mo Nga Uri Tuku Iho Trust

Tanira Kingi, Scion

Anita Wreford, Lincoln University

Suzie Greenhalgh, Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research

Blake Holgate, Rabobank

Karl Beckert, Department of Conservation (observer)

Marama Findlay, Ministry for Primary Industries (observer)

Kelly Forster, Ministry for the Environment (observer)


David Crawford, Motor Industry Association

Malia Vehikite, Kiwi Rail

John Nicholson, Aviation New Zealand

Rosie Mercer, Ports of Auckland

John Davies, Auckland Forecasting Centre

Simon McManus, Intelligent Transport System NZ

Mark Gilbert, Drive Electric

Kayne Davis, Air New Zealand

Simon Kingham, Ministry of Transport (observer)

Rob Hannaby, New Zealand Transport Agency (observer)

Joanna Pohatu, Ministry of Transport (observer)

Mitchell Trezona-Le Comte, Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority  (observer)

Heat, industry and power

Jo-Anne Short, Ārahi

Tony Oosten, Fonterra

Ralph Matthes, Major Electricity Users Group

Stuart Frazer, Frazer Lindstrom

Dr Martin Atkins, University of Waikato

Andy Philpott, University of Auckland

Gillian Blythe, Independent consultant (formerly Meridian Energy)

Garth Dibley, WEL Networks

Susan Krumdieck, University of Canterbury (attended meetings in 2019)

Aaron Marshall, University of Canterbury

Dr Chris Bumby, Victoria University

Dr Ian Brewer,  Todd Energy / Natural gas industry representative

Kam Szeto, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (observer)

Vince Smart, Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (observer)

Back to the news

Last modified: